Skip to content

APPLIED CORRELATION LABORATORY

APPLIED CORRELATION LABORATORY
Studio Exhibition

Opening on Thursday, November 24, 2022, 6 p.m. in the context of the Vienna Art Week
A cooperation between the University of Applied Arts Vienna and the Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation

Frederick Kiesler, visionary architect, designer and set designer, founded his holistic Laboratory for Design Correlation at the School of Architecture of Columbia University in New York in 1937. In experimental teaching formats, he tested his theory of Correalism, a transdisciplinary basic research on design and architecture, together with students from various disciplines. In this, Kiesler assumes that the human being forms the center of interacting forces and at the same time names a tool in his theory formation that was not only intended to counteract the social problems of his time, but has lost none of its relevance in the context of sustainability to this day.

How would such artistic education play out in our present day and what solutions could be generated by Kiesler’s methods? The Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation houses Kiesler’s estate in its archive. In a research collaboration with the University of Applied Arts Vienna, Doris Krüger and Gerd Zillner are exploring these questions and investigating in the Applied Correlation Laboratory how the historical material can be activated for a young generation of students and artists. Perceptual experiments, theatrical moments, sculptural and cinematic references are linked together through a space-consuming display in the exhibition.

The Applied Correlation Laboratory is an institutional collaboration; it is a tool for artistic and scientific research, a workshop setting for hands-on experimentation, a platform for education, and a place for shared learning. It is an artwork, a lecture series, a research project, an exhibition and a publication.

Featuring works by Francesca Centonze, Ganaël Dumreicher, Kirils Ēcis, Aleksandar Gabrovski, Jai Yun Lee, Jona Lingitz, Isolar Mesec, Michi Schmidl, Marlene Stahl and Bofan Zhou.
Exhibition display by: Jasmy Chieh-Hsuan Chen

A research project by Doris Krüger/Krüger & Pardeller, Senior Artist at the University of Applied Arts Vienna, and Gerd Zillner, Director of the Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation.

Exhibition opening:
Thursday, November 24, 2022, 6 p.m. as part of Vienna Art Week.

Finissage and book presentation:
Wednesday, January 25, 2023, 6 p.m.

Exhibition duration:
November 25, 2022 – January 25, 2023

Exhibition venue:
Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation.
Mariahilfer Strasse 1b/Top 1, 1060 Vienna

Opening Hours:
Tuesday through Friday from 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (excluding holidays) and by appointment, free admission.

“APPLIED CORRELATION LABORATORY” is an INTRA project at the University of Applied Arts Vienna: Fokus Relationale Forschung

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Zum Inhalt springen

APPLIED CORRELATION LABORATORY

APPLIED CORRELATION LABORATORY
Studio Exhibition

Eröffnung am Donnerstag, 24. November 2022, 18 Uhr im Rahmen der Vienna Art Week
Eine Kooperation zwischen der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien und der Österreichischen Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung

Friedrich Kiesler, visionärer Architekt, Designer und Bühnenbildner, gründete 1937 an der School of Architecture der Columbia University in New York sein ganzheitliches Laboratory for Design Correlation. In experimentellen Unterrichtsformaten erprobte er gemeinsam mit Studierenden unterschiedlicher Fachrichtungen seine Theorie des Correalismus, einer transdisziplinären Grundlagenforschung zum Entwurf in Architektur und Design. In dieser geht Kiesler davon aus, dass der Mensch das Zentrum von wechselseitig wirkenden Kräften bildet und benennt in seiner Theoriebildung zugleich ein Werkzeug, das nicht nur den gesellschaftlichen Problemen seiner Zeit entgegenwirken sollte, sondern im Kontext der Nachhaltigkeit bis heute nichts an Aktualität verloren hat.

Wie würde sich eine derartige Lehre in unserer Gegenwart gestalten und welche Lösungen könnten durch Kieslers Methoden generiert werden? Die Österreichische Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung beherbergt in ihrem Archiv Kieslers Nachlass. In einer Forschungskooperation mit der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien gehen Doris Krüger und Gerd Zillner diesen Fragen nach und untersuchen im Applied Correlation Laboratory, wie sich das historische Material für eine junge Generation Studierender und Kunstschaffender aktivieren lässt. Wahrnehmungsexperimente, theatralische Momente, skulpturale und filmische Referenzen werden durch ein raumgreifendes Display in der Ausstellung miteinander verbunden.

Das Applied Correlation Laboratory ist eine institutionelle Kooperation, es ist ein Werkzeug für künstlerische und wissenschaftliche Forschung, ein Workshop-Setting für praktische Versuche, eine Plattform für Bildung und ein Ort des gemeinsamen Lernens. Es ist ein Kunstwerk, eine Vortragsreihe, ein Forschungsprojekt, eine Ausstellung und eine Publikation.

Mit Arbeiten von Francesca Centonze, Ganaël Dumreicher, Kirils Ēcis, Aleksandar Gabrovski, Jai Yun Lee, Jona Lingitz, Isolar Mesec, Michi Schmidl, Marlene Stahl und Bofan Zhou

Ausstellungsdisplay von: Jasmy Chieh-Hsuan Chen

Ein Forschungsprojekt von Doris Krüger/Krüger & Pardeller, Senior Artist an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien, und Gerd Zillner, Direktor der Österreichischen Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung

Ausstellungseröffnung:
Donnerstag, 24. November 2022, 18 Uhr im Rahmen der Vienna Art Week

Finissage und Buchpräsentation
:
Mittwoch, 25. Januar 2023, 18 Uhr

Ausstellungsdauer:
25. November 2022 – 25. Januar 2023

Ausstellungsort:
Österreichische Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung
Mariahilfer Straße 1b/Top 1, 1060 Wien

Öffnungszeiten:
Dienstag bis Freitag von 10:00 bis 17:00 Uhr (ausgenommen feiertags) und nach Vereinbarung, Eintritt frei.

„APPLIED CORRELATION LABORATORY“ ist ein INTRA-Projekt an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien: Fokus Relationale Forschung

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert