Dissemination

Wanderlust. Sharing of reflective things resonante

In a joint exhibition format, contributions from research project teams developed especially for the Angewandte Festival 2021 and supported by the Zentrum Fokus Forschung will be on display. In the willingness to critically surrender to discovering exploration lie both the excitement and the responsibility of research in art and science. The festival once again offers the opportunity to celebrate this. We offer path and space to delve into research projects from this perspective as part of Wanderlust.

Wanderlust details 

 

Public Colloquium – Artistic Research PhD

The Public Colloquium is part of the Artistic Research PhD Programme at the University of Applied Arts Vienna. The aim of the Public Colloquium is to provide an opportunity for the PhD candidates to present the progress and current development of their research projects. The presentations serve to illustrate the continuous artistic research practice, whereby development is made comprehensible through the consideration of reflexive forms of documentation and the possibility of integrating existing elements of the work.

Moderation by Margarete Jahrmann (University Professor Artistic Research PhD Programme) and Alexander Damianisch (Head of Zentrum Fokus Forschung).

 

Envelope

The publication Envelope offers insights into ongoing PhD projects of artistic research within an innovative format. The core of Envelope presents content provided by PhD candidates based upon their individual artistic research and and allows a glimpse into ongoing processes. These visual and written traces portray the current state of the art within their continuous research processes. Jointly developed between Margarete Jahrmann, Professor for the Artistic Research PhD Programme since 2017/18, and Alexander Damianisch, head of Zentrum Fokus Forschung, this open format tries to follow and reflect our experiences through a tentative way of sharing, as well as providing reference and provocation as it documents relevant developments in the field of art and research.

Download Envelope #2
Download Envelope #3

open access digital Envelope #4

 

Research Week

October 2021 at the Prateratelier – Rustenschacherallee 2-4 1020 Vienna

The research week is an opportunity offered to researchers in the institutional environment of the University of Applied Arts Vienna to present research projects and activities in a context of dialogue and to foster further exchange. This stage aims to support the debate on research activities at the university and to increase the visibility of the individual projects.

Further information for researchers interested in taking part – Invite Research Week

 

Applied Practices

to be translated.

For the list of past events see – Applied Practice

 

Research State

In the context of developing research activities and their communication, research projects in both scientific and artistic research fields, including doctoral students, were invited to present their current research in five- to ten-minute videos.

Please find all video presentations at – research state

 

Understanding Art & Research

An exhibition of the University of Applied Arts Vienna

 

Curated by Gerald Bast, Alexander Damianisch, Barbara Putz-Plecko

The University of Applied Arts Vienna presents exemplary approaches to its artistic research under the title UNDERSTANDING – ART & RESEARCH, which focuses upon understanding as the creative impulse. Through examples from research and teaching, science and art, the transformation of society can be viewed, examined, sensed, discussed and experienced.

Details on the individual locations

 

Contemporary Code (2015)

An exhibition of the University of Applied Arts Vienna in cooperation with the School of Creative Media/ City University of Hong Kong. The exhibition, opened in 2015 at the City University of Hong Kong, presented artistic research projects based at the University of Applied Arts Vienna.

The video documentation of artistic research projects created in this context can be found here:  Contemporary Code

Dissemination

Wanderlust. Sharing of reflective things resonante

In einem gemeinsamen Ausstellungsformat werden speziell für das Angewandte Festival 2021 entwickelte und vom Zentrum Fokus Forschung unterstützte Beiträge von Forschungsprojektteams gezeigt. In der Bereitschaft, sich kritisch der entdeckenden Exploration zu überlassen, liegen sowohl Spannung wie auch Verantwortung von Forschung in Kunst und Wissenschaft. Das Festival bietet einmal mehr die Möglichkeit, dies zu feiern. Wir bieten Weg und Raum, um sich im Rahmen von Wanderlust in dieser Perspektive in Forschungsprojekte zu vertiefen.

Wanderlust details

 

Public Colloquium – Artistic Research PhD

Das Öffentliche Kolloquium ist Teil des Doktoratsprogramms künstlerische Forschung (PhD in Art) an der Angewandten. Ziel des Öffentlichen Kolloquiums ist es, den Doktorand*innen die Möglichkeit zu geben, den Fortschritt und die aktuelle Entwicklung ihrer Forschungsprojekte vorzustellen. Die Präsentationen dienen der Veranschaulichung der kontinuierlichen künstlerischen Forschungspraxis, bei der die Entwicklung durch die Berücksichtigung reflexiver Dokumentationsformen und die Integration bestehender Elemente der künstlerischen Arbeit nachvollziehbar gemacht wird.

Margarete Jahrmann (Universitätsprofessur im Doktoratsprogramm Künstlerische Forschung) und Alexander Damianisch (Leiter des Zentrum Fokus Forschung) begleiten die Veranstaltung moderierend. Die Veranstaltung findet in englischer Sprache statt.

 

Envelope

Die Publikation Envelope bietet mit einem innovativen Format Einblicke in die laufenden PhD Projekte künstlerischer Forschung. Der Kern von Envelope präsentiert Inhalte, die von den Doktorand*innen auf der Grundlage ihrer individuellen künstlerischen Forschung erarbeitet wurden und erlaubt einen Blick in laufende Prozesse. Diese visuellen und schriftlichen Spuren stellen den aktuellen Stand der Kunst innerhalb ihrer kontinuierlichen Forschungsprozesse dar. Gemeinsam von Margarete Jahrmann, Professorin für das PhD-Programm Künstlerische Forschung seit 2017/18 und Alexander Damianisch, Leiter des Zentrum Fokus Forschung, entwickelt. Dieses offene Format begleitet unsere Erfahrungen im Rahmen eines tentativen Austauschs und setzt Referenzen und Provokationen, indem es relevante Entwicklungen im Bereich von Kunst und Forschung dokumentiert. 

Download Envelope #2
Download Envelope #3

open access digital Envelope #4

 

Woche der Forschung

Oktober 2021 im Prateratelier Rustenschacherallee

Die Angewandte Forschungswoche soll den Forscher*innen in den Doktoratsprogrammen und den laufenden Projekten der Angewandten die Möglichkeit bieten, ihre Forschungsaktivitäten im institutionellen Umfeld der Angewandten zu präsentieren und zu diskutieren. Als Bühne für die Forschung zielt sie darauf ab, den Austausch über Forschungsprozesse am Haus zu unterstützen und die Sichtbarkeit der einzelnen Projekte zu erhöhen.

Weitere Informationen für interessierte Forscher*innen – Invite Research Week

 

Angewandte Praxis

Projektbasiertes Arbeiten in Forschung und Kunst als konkrete Praxis an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien stellt sich in einem universitätsinternen Rahmen vor: Immer wenn das Bekannte, das Vertraute verlassen wird, passiert etwas. Das gilt für Kunst und Wissenschaft. Gerade dann wenn man Neuem gegenübersteht, entstehen Impulse.

eine Liste der bisherigen Veranstaltungen finde Sie unter – Angewandte Praxis Veranstaltungen

 

Research State

In the context of developing research activities and their communication, research projects in both scientific and artistic research fields including doctoral students were invited to present their current research in five to ten-minute videos.

die Videobeiträge finden Sie unter – research state

 

Understanding Art & Research

Eine Ausstellung der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien
Kuratiert von Gerald Bast, Alexander Damianisch, Barbara Putz-Plecko.

Die Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien präsentiert unter dem Titel UNDERSTANDING – ART & RESEARCH Ansätze künstlerischer Forschung, dabei geht es um den Wunsch zu verstehen als ureigenstem Gestaltungsimpuls.
Durch Beispiele aus Forschung und Lehre, Wissenschaft und Kunst lässt sich in der Schau die Transformation der Gesellschaft mittels konkreter Projekte betrachten, erspüren, diskutieren und erleben.

Bisherige Stationen der Ausstellung waren Neuseeland (Dunedin School of Art), Singapur (Nanyang Technological University Singapore), Los Angeles (UCLA Art|Sci Center) und Wien (MAK). [MAK Booklet zum Download]


Contemporary Code (2015)

Eine Ausstellung der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien in Kooperation mit der School of Creative Media/ City University of Hong Kong. Die 2015 in der der City University of Hong Kong eröffnete Ausstellung präsentierte an der Angewandten beheimatete künstlerische Forschungsprojekte.

Die in diesem Rahmen entstandene Video Dokumentation über künstlerische Forschungsprojekte finden Sie hier: Contemporary Code