Frequently Asked Questions – Artistic Research PhD Programme

What are the necessary application documents?
The application should consist of CV, portfolio and exposé. You can find further information in the Admission Procedure for the Artistic Research PhD Programme.

What is the exposé?
The exposé (max. 1200 words, incl. footnotes) outlines the intended artistic research project. It should explain research concept, methodology, project goal and intended form of reflexive documentation. It should also include a time and contents schedule for the proposed project. A summary (max. 300 words) elaborating the research question should precede the exposé

Can candidates from all artistic degree courses apply the PhD in Art programme?
Yes, the programme is open to graduates from all artistic studies. Applicants are required to provide evidence of a completed, subject-relevant diploma or master programme.

Which costs can be expected for the programme?
During the period of study defined in the curriculum plus two semesters, students with EU/EWR or Swiss citizenship pay the ÖH (Austrian National Union of Students) fee. Students from other countries and students who exceed the period of study defined in the curriculum plus two semesters pay an additional fee. The Office for Student and Academic Affairs provides more information.

How are the PhD projects financed?
In order to prove and quality of the research project, candidates have to include a financing model for the three year study in their application – be it PhD-funding programmes, grants or own resources. For further information on grants and scholarships please visit this page.

Does the programme offer studio space?
Within the premises of Zentrum Fokus Forschung we offer participants in the Artistic Research PhD Programme a shared work space and the necessary infrastructure to realize their research projects.

Which language skills and certificates are required?
The language of instruction is English, sufficient language skills are necessary to successfully complete the programme. However, you don’t have to provide certificates in the application.

Do participants have to move to Vienna?
Most of the programme’s courses and activities take place in Vienna. We aim to structure the classes in blocks throughout a semester. Students are urged to attend these block seminars but they can participate from abroad for the rest of the time.

Do I have to contact a supervisor for my PhD project prior to my application?
No. A committee will decide about the admission of up to eight candidates and about the supervisors based on the applicant’s proposal. A supervisor’s consent is not necessary nor will it influence the committee’s decision.

Frequently Asked Questions – Artistic Research PhD Programme

Welche Unterlagen sollte die Bewerbung enthalten?
Die Bewerbung soll Lebenslauf, Portfolio und Exposé umfassen. Nähere Informationen entnehmen Sie der Zulassungsverordnung für das Doktoratsstudium Künstlerische Forschung.

Was ist das Exposé?
Im Exposé (maximal 1200 Wörter, inkl. Fußnoten) soll das geplante künstlerische Forschungsvorhaben dargestellt werden. Erläutert werden Forschungskontext, Methodik, Projektziel und die Form der reflexiven Dokumentation. Zudem enthält das Exposé einen inhaltlichen und zeitlichen Ablaufplan des Vorhabens. Dem Exposé vorangestellt ist eine Zusammenfassung des Forschungsvorhabens (maximal 300 Wörter), die auch die explizite Forschungsfrage beinhaltet.

Steht das Doktoratsstudium KandidatInnen aus allen künstlerischen Studienrichtungen frei?
Ja, das Programm steht Absolventen von Studiengängen aus allen künstlerischen Studienrichtungen frei. Voraussetzung für die Zulassung ist der Nachweis der allgemeinen Universitätsreife für die Zulassung zu Doktoratsstudien.

Welche Kosten fallen für das Doktoratsstudium an?
Für Studierende mit der Staatsangehörigkeit eines EU/EWR-Landes oder der Schweiz fällt innerhalb der Studienzeit laut Curriculum zuzüglich zwei Toleranzsemester lediglich der ÖH-Beitrag an. Studierende anderer Staaten und Studierende, die die Studienzeit zuzüglich zwei Toleranzsemester überschritten haben, zahlen zusätzlich einen Studienbeitrag. Nähere Informationen finden Sie bei der Studienabteilung.

Wie werden Doktoratsprojekte finanziert?
Um die Durchführbarkeit und Qualität des Forschungsprojektes zu gewährleisten wird von den KanditatInnen erwartet, im Antrag ein eigenes Finanzierungsmodell für die 3 Jahre auszuarbeiten – sei es durch PhD- Förderprogramme, Stipendien oder Eigenmittel. Für weitere Informationen nach entsprechenden Mitteln wenden Sie sich bitte an diese Seite.

Wird den TeilnehmerInnen ein Studio zur Verfügung gestellt?
In den Räumlichkeiten des Zentrums Fokus Forschung bieten wir den TeilnehmerInnen des Doktoratsstudiums Arbeitsplätze und Infrastruktur an, die sie bei der Umsetzung ihrer Projekte unterstützten sollen.

Welche Fremdsprachenkenntnisse und –nachweise werden vorausgesetzt?
Die Unterrichtssprache des Doktoratsstudiums ist Englisch, gute Sprachkenntnisse sind daher eine Voraussetzung für die erfolgreiche Teilnahme am Studium. Im Antrag müssen keine Sprachkenntnisse nachgewiesen werden.

Müssen die TeilnehmerInnen in Wien leben?
Die meisten Kurse und Aktivitäten des Dokotratsstudiums finden in Wien statt. Wir versuchen, die Seminare blockweise über das Semester verteilt anzubieten. Die Teilnahme an diesen Blockseminaren ist erforderlich. Während der restlichen Studienzeit können sich die TeilnehmerInnen auch aus dem Ausland am Programm beteiligen.

Muss ich für meine Bewerbung im Voraus eine/n Betreuer/in für mein Doktoratsvorhaben an der Universität kontaktieren?
Nein. Basierend auf den Bewerbungen entscheidet eine mehrköpfige Kommission über die Aufnahme von bis zu 8 KanditatInnen sowie über die Zuteilungen eines geeigneten Supervisors. Die Zusage eines Betreuers/ einer Betreuerin ist hierfür nicht notwendig und kann auch nicht speziell positiv geltend gemacht werden.